Cristiana Ronaldo crowned FIFA world player of the year


wpid-b7lbn26cmaa7ok6-300x160.jpg

Real Madrid and Portugal forward, Cristiano
Ronaldo has won the 2014 FIFA Ballon d’Or.
He beat four-time winner of the award,
Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich’s
World Cup-winning goalkeeper Manuel Neuer
to the award, the third of his career.
Cristiano Ronaldo claimed the award after
polling 37.66% more than double the total of
his nearest competitor, Messi who managed
15.76%.
Manuel Neuer finished third with 15.72%.
percent of the votes cast by the coaches and
captains of all international teams – plus a
selection of journalists.
Ronaldo said on winning the award: “I would
like to thank all of those who voted for me, my
president, my coach and Real Madrid. It has
been an unforgettable year. To win this trophy
at the end of it is something incredibly
unique.”
“I want to continue to work as I have so far, to
try and and win more titles, for my mother, for
my father, for my son. To all the Portuguese
people out there: I never thought that I would
take this trophy back on three occasions. I
want to become one of the greatest players of
all time.”
He scored 61 goals for both club and country
in 2014 and was considered by many to be the
clear favourite for the award.
Other winners on the night were Ronaldo’s
Real Madrid team-mate James Rodriguez,
who picked up hte Puskas award for the best
goal of 2014 for his strike at the World Cup in
Brazil against Uruguay.
Wolfsburg and Germany midfielder, Nadine
Kessler, was named women’s player of the
year, beating Brazilian forward Marta and the
United States’ Abby Wambach.
By: Edwin Kwakofi/citifmonline.com/Ghana

Leave a Reply

